Canton Rd. booming with construction activity

By Carol McIntire Editor   CARROLLTON – Motorists driving on Canton Rd. at the north end of the village of Carrollton may experience delays as construction progresses on renovations to an existing More »

Garden Club bringing floral aspect to art displays

Two area non-profits have joined forces to bring “Posies and Paintings,” a flower and art show to the public. The Suburban Garden Club is working in conjunction with the Carroll County Arts More »

Free lending library added to Mechanicstown park

MECHANICSTOWN – A Little Free Library has found a home in Mechanicstown. The small, front-yard book exchange libraries number 36,000 around the world in 70 countries – from Iceland to Tasmania to More »

Shop tax-free this weekend!

The Ohio Sales Tax Holiday is back for 2017 and will be held Aug. 4-6. All shoes and clothing priced less than $75 will be exempt from state and local sales and More »

Preparations underway for 2017 CHS football season under new head coach

By Carol McIntire Editor   CARROLLTON – Practice for the 2017 football season is officially underway. Under Ohio High School Athletic Association guidelines, summer conditioning and 10 days of coaching concluded last More »


Excavation continues at new school site; crews preparing to pour foundation

By Nancy Schaar
FPS Correspondent



Excavation work continues at the site of the new Carrollton school building on SR 332 just south of Carrollton. Officials expect to begin pouring concrete on the foundation within the next week.

Carrollton Schools board of education members received a progress update on construction of the new school during the Aug. 8 meeting.

“We are moving a lot of dirt. It is full steam ahead. There will be many more contractors and office trailers coming to the site in the months ahead,” said Andrew Lowther, project manager for Shook Construction.

Lowther provided an update on excavation to prepare the building site on State Route 332 for the new Carrollton schools building.

“There is no more grass.  Trailers have been mobilized and the building pads are about 80 percent done.  By mid August, we should be pouring the concrete foundation and then the block work begins,” said Lowther.

Faulty line blamed for oil spill

State, county and township officials responded to a crude oil spill in Orange Twp. last weekend.

Carroll County Emergency Management Director Tom Cottis said county officials were alerted to an oil spill on Crane Rd. Aug. 12 at about 5:45 p.m.

Leesville firefighters and Sherrodsville Volunteer Fire Dept. Inc. responded and found a supply line from an oil well in the Clinton formation failed and caused the spill.

Community open house planned Aug. 17 at Conotton Valley

A community open house will be held Saturday, Aug. 19, from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. in preparation for the opening of school Aug. 23 in the Conotton Valley Union Local School District.

Students can come in and see their classrooms, teachers and get their schedules during open house, according to School Superintendent/High School Principal Todd Herman.

Lunch prices will be he same as last year: Breakfast, $1.50; milk, 40 cents; elementary lunch, $2.50; high school lunch, $3. Both lunches include white milk while chocolate milk is 40 cents.

Supt. Herman said bus drivers will contact parents concerting bus routes.

The school day begins at 7:45 a.m. and students are dismissed at 2:50 p.m.

dlhBowles to close Carrollton plant, 94 jobs lost

By Carol McIntire


A second manufacturing facility is scheduled to close in Carrollton in less than one year.

Officials from dlhBowles notified state officials at the Ohio Department of Job and Family Services (DJFS) Office of Workforce Development Rapid Response Section they plan to begin reducing the number of employees in the Industrial Park facility recently annexed to the village of Carrollton (SR 332 south of the village) in October and permanently close in March 2018.

In a letter dated Aug. 8, Charles Andrews, vice president of Human Resources for dlhBowles, said they anticipate the reductions occurring in three-to-four groups and 94 employees will be affected including 69 laborers. Employees are not represented by a union.

CHS boys golf team off to strong start

The Carrollton boys golf team is off to a strong start.

The team placed third in the Northeastern Buckeye Conference tournament that kicked off the season Aug. 7, just one stroke behind the winners.

West Branch and Minerva stood tied at 341 after regulation play. A sixth-man playoff gave West Branch the win and placed Minerva second. Carrollton golfers scored a 342.

Louisville finished fourth, Alliance, fifth; East Palestine, sixth; and Salem, seventh.

Skip to toolbar