FPS logo
Sweeney-Dodds logo
Upcoming Events
Legal Notices

(From 1954 FPS Files)

A total of 225 children attended the Carrollton Community  Vacation Bible School held at the local Christian, Presbyterian and Lutheran Churches.

Nine members of a burglary gang believed to have been involved in thousands of dollars worth of thefts were apprehended by Carroll County Sheriff Richard Beamer.

Production resumed at The Scio Pottery as the 1,050 employees returned from their three-week vacation.

A-2C Lloyd A. Miller was attached with the 71st Air and Sea Rescue Squadron at Elemenburg AFB, Alaska.

Captain Graham Day spent a ten-day leave in Carrollton with his wife, the former Rita McLaughlin, and family upon completing an assignment in Japan.

(From 1964 FPS Files)

Ten members of Carrollton Explorer Scout Post and three leaders celebrated its 10th anniversary by making a third trip to Canada to camp in the Kawartha Lake area. Scouts making the trip included Robert Couch, George Walton, Larry Tasker, Dick Tinlin, John Barker, Gary Warden, Richard Cummings, Denny Blazer, David Tinlin and William Tasker. Accompanying the group were Post Advisor H. O. Tinlin and Leaders George Tinlin and Rusty Bright.

 Construction was progressing on eight new classrooms and a new cafeteria at the Carrollton school complex.

Herrington Bethel, a 121-year-old church in Augusta Twp. was undergoing extensive remodeling, which included a new ceiling, new trusses and new roof.

Rev. Robert Hoover was installed as the new pastor of New Harrisburg Presbyterian Church.

(From 1974 FPS Files)

Attendance at the 124th annual Carroll County fair was estimated by Judd L. Hall, superintendent of gates, at 50,000.

John Mangun and Alice Rutledge were named the Outstanding 4-H Boy and Girl at the 1974 county fair. Runnersup up were Mary Ellen Romig and Jeff Marteney.

The Kelch sisters, Lynne and Sudie, exhibited the grand and reserve champion steers, respectively, as 4-H projects at the 1974 Carroll County fair.

College Record, a three-year-old son of Dartmouth, swept to a 2.06:3 clocking to break a 42-year-old trotting record at the Carroll County fair. The horse was owned by Elbridge Moxley of Medina and driven by Earl Bowman.

(From 1984 FPS Files)

Patrick Maynard and Truman Stoneburner were hired by the Carroll County Mental Retardation and Developmental District Board as superintendent and director of Carroll Hills workshop, respectively.

John D. Frazier was named mayor of Malvern following the resignation of Robert Wells who held the position for 22 years.

Lou Abraham was installed as president of the Carrollton Rotary Club.

Rob Anania and Christine Bolanz were named the Outstanding 4-H Boy and Girl at the 134th annual Carroll County fair.

A 12-year-old, Beth Anania, won best of show in the flower show at the Carroll County fair while Elizabeth Sweeney received best of show in the design division.

(From 1994 FPS Files)

James Kays, Taryn Baker and Justin Moore earned grand champion banners in the 1994 Carroll County Junior Fair carcass contest.

A large map of the United States was painted on the blacktopped area of the playground at Carrollton elementary school to be used to locate states and state capitols.

Carrollton Gridders Steve Morvatz, Ray Hill, Jeff Robison and Don Russ were selected to play in the annual Times-Reporter Charities All-Star Football game.

A survey by Chief Deputy Robert Wirkner revealed that of the 139 vehicles clocked on Bacon Rd., eight were going over the 55 mile per hour speed limit while the average speed of those traveling Bacon Rd. was clocked at 40 miles per hour.

(From 2004 FPS Files)

Tim Keister and Amanda Kaye Moore reigned as the 2004 Carroll County Fair King and Queen.

Members of the Carroll County Outstanding 4-H Court were Aaron Kampfer, Nate Ruehs, Amy Erwin, Sara Bryan and Tricia Hanna.

Jeff Bleininger, a former Carrollton High School assistant principal, was named superintendent of the Conotton Valley Union Local School District.

Winners in the 2004 Carroll County Fair’s 4-H Cowboy and Cowgirl contest were Logan Sellers, Savannah Patterson, Forrest Patterson, Rachel Childers, Brittney Mehalik and Laurie Piecynski.

©2014 The Free Press Standard
Carrollton Free Press Standard P. O. 37, Carrollton, OH 44615

Letters to the Editor
Looking Back