Farmers Exchange

Category Archives: Sports

Pridemore dumps in 15 points, Warriors top Garaway 65-51

By Carol McIntire


Carrollton senior Jaci Pridemore (20) puts up a shot over the outstretched arms of Zoc Johnson from Garaway. Pridemore led the Warriors with 15 points.

Senior Jaci Pridemore used her distinct height advantage to lead the Lady Warriors to a 65-51 non-league win over Garaway last week in the Carrollton gym.

Pridemore, a 6’-3” senior, scored 15 points that included a five-of-nine performance from the field, and sank five of six free-throw attempts. She also pulled down 13 rebounds.

“Jaci had a great game,” said Warrior Coach Craig Rodgers. “We knew they were smaller than us, but they made up for it in speed and grit.”

Rodgers was referring to the Pirates’ full-court press and quick passing that kept the game close through the first quarter and half.

Carrollton led 15-11 after the first quarter and outscored the Pirates 22-12 in the second quarter to take a 37-23 lead at the half.

“We did a pretty nice job of handling their full-court pressure and got some layups early on,” Rodgers said.

Carrollton’s zone defense kept the Pirates pretty much out of the lane all game, but didn’t have an answer for Sydney Mullet who pumped in eight shots from three-point range and ended the night leading all scorers with 26 points. She scored nine of her team’s 11 points in the first quarter.

Cagers pick up win in quadruple overtime

By Carol McIntire


CANTON SOUTH – It took four overtime periods, but the Carrollton boys basketball team picked up their first league win of the season last week, 66-64, in thrilling fashion.

It was the second win of the season for the Warriors, against nine losses, and their lone Northeastern Buckeye Conference victory against five losses.

“Practice sure was a lot easier the next day,” Warrior Coach Todd English jokingly said. “The boys played hard. It was a great win and a great feeling.”

The two teams were deadlocked at the end of the first period, 8-8. Carrollton held an eight-point advantage at halftime, 20-2 and stretched the lead to 31-21 at the end of the third period.

Ben Pasiuk wins Top Gun title; MVP award

Ben Pasiuk
Top Gun MVP

ALLIANCE – Carrollton crowned a champion, a runner-up and brought home the individual MVP award from the prestigious Top Gun Invitational last weekend at Alliance. The team also placed eighth in a field of 42 teams.

Junior Ben Pasiuk, a state runner-up last season, won the 145-pound weight class and earned the tournament MVP award. He defeated Xander Gore of S.V.S.M. by injury default in the championship round. The last time a Warrior earned the MVP award at Top Gun was Matt Plunket in 1989.

Carrollton senior Justin Shaw, who place fifth at the state tournament in 2017, placed second at 152-pounds. Shaw faced nationally ranked Jake Marsh of Marysville and fell by a 13-1 major decision.

Also placing for Carrollton were junior Brandon Daniels (160) and sophomore Alex Carrothers (182), who both placed fifth, and junior Robbie Hoopes (120), who placed seventh.

S.V. S. M. won the team title with 182 points, followed by Austintown with 152.5, Olentangy 149, Louisville 144, Marysville 137.5, Tuslaw 133, Alliance 132.5 and Carrollton 132.

School board approves sale of house built by Buckeye students

After rejecting a high bid of $227,500 at their November meeting, the Buckeye Career Center Board of Education approved the sale of a Buckeye built house at their Dec. 19 meeting.

The house at 535 Corral Dr. NE in New Philadelphia was sold to Helena Doss (address not attainable) for $252,900. The buyer purchased the property through Realtor Kathy Pietro with Barnett Realtors of New Philadelphia.

In other business, the Board:

– VOTED to participate in the Ohio School Boards Associations Legal Assistance fund for 2018 at a cost of $250;

– APPROVED Kimberly Love and Donna Pepper as high school substitutes for the 2017-18 school year;

Aviators visit town; leave with 53-38 league win

By Carol McIntire


Carrollton junior Drue Moore (1) drives into the lane and puts the ball up against Gus Johnson (2) in action from the Alliance game Jan. 5.

Alliance and Carrollton faced off Friday on the Warriors’ home basketball court in a game of teams hovering at the bottom of the Northeastern Buckeye Conference standings.

The Aviators came into the game with one conference win. The Warriors were looking for their first win.

The two teams played pretty evenly matched ball through three quarters. Alliance led 14-11 after one period, 23-21 at the half and had a four-point advantage heading in the final frame. Alliance took charge in the fourth period, reeling off 10 points and taking a 45-31 lead before the Warriors sank a shot.

Tyler Johns sank one of his two three-point shots to start the rally. As the Warriors attempted to bring the ball up the court against a full-court press, Sarrick Sampson stole the ball, laid it up and in the basket. A quick Carrollton time out was followed by a foul on Sampson, who sank both free throws to increase the lead to 42-31. Two more free throws and a field goal by Jeff Talbert stretched the lead to 45-31 with just under five minutes left in the game.

The Warriors scored seven points in the final minutes, but fell short 53-38.

Senior Drue Moore led Carrollton with 16 points, four steals and three assists. Adam Chaney and Chayse Marmo each scored seven points.

Skip to toolbar