Bruzzese to serve as district treasurer


Interim treasurer Lisa Bruzzese was officially named to serve as district treasurer during the March 17 Edison Local Board of Education meeting.

Bruzzese, who succeeded retired official Dennis Menoski in a temporary capacity March 1, was approved by school board members to hold a more permanent role from March 18 to July 31. The board also approved a recommendation by Supt. Bill Beattie to grant her a three-year contract which runs from Aug. 1, 2016, to July 31, 2019, at a salary of $91,106.60.

Edison BOE Lisa Bruzzese Photo
Lisa Bruzzese

She holds 18 years’ experience as treasurer for Steubenville City and Columbiana Exempted Village Schools and previously served as an assistant treasurer for the Jefferson County Joint Vocational District, but she essentially returned to her roots since she is a Knoxville resident and graduated from Jefferson Union High School.

“I’m excited to be part of this organization,” Bruzzese said, adding that she’s settling into the role. “I just want to move us forward and utilize the funds we have to benefit the kids.”

Supt. Beattie commented that Bruzzese’s background makes her an asset to Edison Local Schools.

“We’re excited to have her in the district,” he said. “Her experience will be valuable to us moving forward.”

Meanwhile, three-year limited administrative contracts were also granted for Edison High School Assistant Principal Caleb Crowl and Stanton Elementary Principal Julie Kireta. Their annual salaries will be $71,792.80 each. Both Crowl and Kireta began their posts during this past school year.

In other matters, the board:

-HEARD from Chuck Burch of the Tri-State All Stars Football program.

– HEARD about Edison High School students’ recent trip to Washington, D.C., for the Close Up Program and also got a preview of the Edison Junior High musical, “The Trials of Alice in Wonderland.”

– APPROVED Stephanie Stevens on the substitute teacher list.

– APPROVED certificated contracts for Jason Ensinger, five years; Luke Ramsey, three years; Angela Arbogast, Sara Cunningham, Melody Johns, two years; Josh Garvin, Samanda Pepperling, Ryan Powell, Andy Lesnansky, and Michelle Romey, all one year, at Edison High School; Nicole Fidak and Nate Kline, five years; Shaylynn Cain, two years; and Brittani Newsome, Kodi Peterson, and Julie Cronin, one year, at Stanton Elementary; and Haley Harshbarger, two years, and Heather Grimes for one year at John Gregg Elementary.

– APPROVED non-certified contracts for Robert Hancock, Jennie Herrick, Sharon Kramarich, Sheri Cronin, Shelley Easte, Toni Carpenter, Bill Goddard, Fred Stine and Christopher Bennett for two years.

– APPROVED a supplemental contract for Jeffrey Baire, baseball volunteer.

– APPROVED the resignation of teacher Judy Hendrix, who plans to retire Sept. 1.

– ADDED Russell Payne to the substitute driver list.

– EMPLOYED Andrea Russell as bus driver.

– ADOPTED a resolution declaring March as Developmental Disabilities Awareness Month;

– AGREED to participate in proposed federal and state programs and named Assistant Superintendent Kim Wadas as the authorized representative for the 2016-17 school year.

– Agreed to rescind a resolution for retirement purposes by Diane Sokol.

– Approved a new reading series.

– Approved the superintendent’s recommendation to revise the Administrative Staff Salary and Fringe Benefit Agreement.

—Set the next meeting for April 21 at 7 p.m. at Stanton Elementary School.